Unlikely paths crossing…

June 22, 2010 at 12:03 am 1 comment


Would like to thank two people for inspiration of todays blog. Thanks to Paula Mosley and Bob Miller… Paula is a Team Leader out of Tennessee whom I’ve never actually met; and Bob is an agent in Ocala, FL who heard me speak at a Social Media class last week. So how do these two paths of people who don’t know each other cross today to inspire me to write? Summed up in one word, effectiveness.

I am a firm believer in focus on what moves you forward and the rest will fix itself. Now, if you’ve ever seen my desk you know this to be true. There are contracts stacked on top of contracts, post it notes, cards, bills, books and more. To be honest you can’t even see the desk when I have my laptop out. So what am I talking about when I say focus on what moves you forward? Lets think about it. What are the actions that you make on a daily basis to move you towards your goal? If you didn’t take action today toward your goal, your simply not going to achieve it. As Susan Scott (author of Fierce Conversations) says “Our careers, companies and relationships succeed or fail, gradually then suddenly—one conversation at a time.”

So we start off with Paula Mosley. At about 5:30 this evening as I was stuck in rush hour traffic I was doing my usual traffic routine…checking my Twitter and Facebook of course. Up pops Paula’s status on FB “Efficiency is doing things right. Effectiveness is doing the right things. ♥ I wanna be effective!”. BAM! Inspiration strikes what if we have them both? We should have them both. Effective is far more important. However, on your path to mastering what makes you effective, you will become efficient and eventually hone your skills. So, a big  thank you goes out to P’Mo for my drive home entertaining ramblings in my head.

Part two: Enter Bob Miller. It’s about 6:30 this evening and I am now home from traffic in my usual spot…the computer. Bob posts a question on my FB wall asking if I prospect, call and follow-up with folks (regular prospecting) or is internet my only source. Simply asking, where is the time to do ALL of it? The answer is a simple yes; I do these things. However the response is not that simple. Instantly I think back to my earlier mental ramblings about Paula’s statement and the clouds have cleared and how it all gets done has now become a little clearer(believe me, I have wondered on more than one occasion sometimes how everything gets done and I still see daylight!).

Without thinking twice I start my response to Bob and out comes the following phrase – “….it’s all about time management and being efficient at the effective things.” Now, this is something that I’ve always known, but when you can articulate it and put it into perspective for someone else…. well, now that’s just magical. So, thank you again to Paula for giving me the exact words to say what I needed to!

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Team Building. Tags: , , , , .

PPC – I do, do you? Do you drive purpose, profit or both?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Heidi Sloan  |  October 14, 2010 at 12:37 am

    Dead on Liz! And love the Susan Scott quote. So true. Keep writing…we appreciate your talent!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



