Facebook: Building Relationships #KWMM

November 14, 2010 at 1:33 pm 1 comment


So its Sunday November 14th 2010 and I am stowed away in one of my favorite spots in the country. Bet your thinking its a tropical beach somewhere, or a secluded mountain cabin; maybe a park in the middle of the city. Nope. I am stowed away on the 6th floor of the Hilton Austin, across from the Grand Ballroom. I know. Not nearly as thrilling as one may have originally guessed. So you’re wondering why on earth is this one of my favorite spots. Don’t get me wrong, I love the tropical islands or a weekend in Vegas just as much as the next girl. However; with this, as all good things it’s about the people and the experience not necessarily the place.

Four years ago at conventions and meetings we all tended to stick with our office people, and connections were slowly built with outsiders. Today, this is one of the few times a year I get to have lunch with and talk shop with some of my favorite people in the country. Notice I only said few times a year. We never see each other. In fact, most of us have never stepped foot into each others homes. Never sat in each others cars and never pet the others dog. Yet, we know each others habits, likes, dislikes, moods and thoughts better than most.

Thank you Facebook. In the last two years I have watched relationships grow with people I had never met. Once we met, it was like we had known each other for years. And every time we get together it is like a day has not passed since the last time we had dinner. Instead of dreading getting on a plane at 6am to go to 4 days worth of meetings, lose sleep and eat poorly I now get excited to see my favorite people. Of course, I still hardly sleep, the flight is still early and I only eat once a day. But I digress. What is now accomplished in these four days is done with a smile, and anticipation and therefore is more productive.

When I teach I talk to people about the way the world has actually changed the way it communicates. Time zones and state lines are no longer separating factors in friendships. Moving across the county is far less traumatic on a friendship. When we look at how the world now communicates and has grown look at the last 5 years. Now. I challenge you to think 5 years ahead. Where will we be?

Entry filed under: facebook, Inspiration, Keller Williams, Social Media.

Do a little rant…make a little noise…Facebook tabs go bu-bye Social Scoring – Are you hanging with the cool kids?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Connie Morelle  |  November 15, 2010 at 6:42 am

    So well put, Liz! I am able to stay in touch with former clients who are scattered across the country…and know when their kids are sick, when new babies are coming, and what their Halloween costumes look like. The world has changed the way we communicate, and the way we communicate is changing the world!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



