Blocking Stik.com – Easier than you think!

March 24, 2011 at 4:40 pm 20 comments


We have all be annoyed beyond belief of Stik.com postings on our wall. Often from someone who doesn’t even interact with us. I myself almost went on a unfriending frenzy about this. Only to do a little research and realize that once a user signs up for Stik, they have virtually little to no control over those postings. So I backed off a little. But still want it to stop. So you will all be VERY happy to know that its easy as pie to make go away. My 2 second instructions are below……. You’re welcome!

Searching in Facebook go up top and search Stik.com (in FB search bar NOT URL)… go to all results (bottom of the window that opens up), left hand side click on apps. Then.. once in the Stik.com app window scroll down to left hand side and block app.

And… Wa la!

By the way. If you want recommendations from your peers or customers go to LinkedIn. This is the PROPER place for such non spamming activities.

Entry filed under: facebook, Hot To, Online Tools, Social Media. Tags: , , , , .

Moving on up! #KWFR Stik.com Replies to Complaints

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe Loomer  |  March 24, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    You, Madam, are a Godess.

    Reply
  • 2. Christy  |  March 24, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Thank you! You are an angel!

    Reply
  • 3. Lynda White  |  March 25, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Liz, I did that and I STILL get Stik postings on my wall! I complained to stik.com and got this reply:
    “It sounds like there might be some confusion stemming from our “ask for recommendations” tool. I apologize for any inconvenience or trouble we might have caused.

    To clarify, when users sign up we give them the option to ask friends for recommendations to help improve their reputation on Facebook and build their referral network. These requests are not sent out all at once at sign-up, but instead are posted over a number of days. We only send out one request to each of the friends you selected.

    The good news is that you can manage your recommendations on this page:

    http://www.stik.com/recommendations.html

    I still did not get the results I wanted, which is to stop these postings. I figure it will die down eventually, though.

    Reply
    • 4. retechtalk  |  March 25, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      This will block it from your profile page and letting others post. However if you have already signed up and have a stick account it will still access. Then, you need to go into Stik.com manually.

      Reply
  • 5. Lynda White  |  March 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Wow, posted too soon! I misunderstood your directions and when I applied them, it worked! That’s what I get for speed reading. I’m sharing this on my Facebook wall! Thank you, Liz.

    Reply
  • 7. Michelle Poccia  |  March 28, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    thanks! Stik and Farmville are equally annoying!

    Reply
  • 8. Nathan labenz  |  April 3, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Hi Liz,

    My name is Nathan Labenz and I’m one of the founders of Stik.com. I just wanted to comment here to let you know that I’ve read your feedback and that we are taking it seriously. We are planning to introduce upgrades to the site tomorrow that will make recommendation requests more personal and meaningful.

    I also wanted to make clear that we are not automatically sending these requests. Our users have full control over whether or not to send requests, and to whom. We have been surprised by how many requests some people send and are considering imposing a limit in order to avoid annoying people like yourself.

    Have a great day and let me know if you have any other feedback for us.

    Best,
    Nathan Labenz

    Reply
    • 9. retechtalk  |  April 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Thank you Nathan. I know many of my folks will be happy to know that information.

      Reply
  • 10. Philip Kiracofe  |  April 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Liz, my name is Philip and I am Broker of Record for the real estate referral arm of Stik.com. This is still in alpha phase, so it will be some time before this reaches wide spread access. We are sharing this advance peek with your readers to offer an incentive to *not* block the stik.com messages.

    We have been testing functionality that allows brokers to refer leads to those they are connected to via Facebook. We recently sent an actual buyer referral to 6 brokers in Portland, OR, and only 1 responded. 2 more responded when we followed up with direct email messages, saying they assumed the original message was spam. The other 3 never even knew that they missed a qualified buyer referral who has since submitted an offer.

    As a broker myself, I am very dialed into the prolific claims around ‘lead generation’, and we are working VERY hard to provide a high quality and lucrative experience for members of the Stik network. Stik has failed at times to avoid pitfalls, and there is still much work to be done.

    However, blocking all messages from Stik will prevent you from receiving referrals through the network once it is up and running. For your readers who may choose to block the referral request messages, please check back periodically on the status of the referral network capabilities, as these are leads coming from fellow brokers in your network.

    Finally, please feel free to contact Nathan (who posted above) or me (philip@stik.com) with any suggestions on how to make the experience better. We are working hard on the areas that we know, and are always open to new ideas.

    Regards,

    Reply
    • 11. retechtalk  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Thanks Philip. I appreciate the active role that you and Nathan have both taken in responding to the consumers feelings on the product. I will post and update so that my readers know your thoughts are here. I know it is an early program and has the potential to be something really great. There will no doubt be some hurdles to overcome after the initial feeling that many have on Stik.com – however, it is definitely doable. Thank you for your insight.

      Reply
  • […] with Stik.com – As many of you have been following the updates since my original post (Blocking Stik.com – Easier than you think!) venting about agents overuse and spam our Facebook wall with their “recommend me” tool […]

    Reply
  • 13. Sharon Steele  |  April 12, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Great post! I would like to add that recently there seemed to be a virus affecting Stik. I received no fewer than 30 messages on my FaceBook wall from people regarding Stik.com recommendations. None of those messages were intentionally sent (I reached out to the individuals). Seriously, it was so annoying! I tried to reach out to Stik via Twitter about the spam….. never received a reply. So, I had to block the application.

    Reply
  • 14. Alonso Menendez  |  July 2, 2012 at 11:01 am

    arrggh! i hate stik. didn’t see where it asked to spam my friends. i’ve had to apologize to several people for this and have removed it myself from friends walls when i’ve noticed it. i killed the app on fb yesterday, then this morning i got an email from them. you want them to go away, best to do what i just did, go to there site login and close your account. good bye stik, thanks for spamming my friends.

    Reply
  • 15. Karilee  |  August 26, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Stik not only spammed my friends walls WITHOUT me asking it to get recommendations, but apparently has now started emailing my friends directly, using their Facebook email information.

    I’m furious.

    I emailed Philip who posted above about it. It will be interesting to see his response. I’ve never seen any reputable company email in this manner, and that they signed the email as me is unconscionable.

    This is the email that they sent:

    “Dear ,

    I would really appreciate it if you would take a minute to support me on Stik.com. I hold myself to a high standard in business, and your review will help me establish trust with future clients.

    My profile is here: http://www.stik.com/recommend/karilee.orchard

    Best,
    Karilee Orchard
    Marketing Coach, Outcome Marketing | Marketing Training with Marketing Coach Karilee Orchard”

    Reply
  • 16. rubberdown  |  October 23, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    As of October 2012, Stik.com is still spamming Facebook friends. I have closed my account and set my FB account to block Stik.

    Reply
  • 17. rubberdown  |  October 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    As of October 2012, Stik.com is still spamming Facebook friends.
    I am closing my Stik account and adjusting FB app settings to block Stik.

    Reply
  • 18. Maureen McCabe  |  May 15, 2013 at 10:22 am

    I got an email from Stik.com saying I have a profile. and I do. It is NOT something I set up. It is not accurate. I have been busy for months updating profiles. Not sure what profile they scraped the info and image from but it is not accurate. I blocked Stik.com on Facebook. I used their help and said “take it down.”

    Reply
  • 19. Kymdwf  |  September 21, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    I found your blog via a search “Stik spam” because I was sent an email on behalf of my father from Stik asking for a referral. Of course, I’d give a referral to my father so I followed the link and started the process. At the end of the process I was informed that the last step was to allow them access to my Facebook profile and friends list. I stopped there. When I questioned my father about it, he had no idea what it was. Just thought you’d like to know that, over 2 years later, Stik is still continuing with their despicable practice.

    Reply
  • 20. Nicki Conway  |  November 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Thank you so much. I have been embarrased by Stik more times than I want to think of. This is very helpful

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



