Stik.com Replies to Complaints

April 4, 2011 at 10:20 am 6 comments


On March 24th I wrote a 2 minute blog (seriously… took 2 minutes) out of sheer frustration for Stik.com. As I stated in the blog, I have nothing against the product and it’s not a bad concept. However, it is a SPAM MACHINE! Well, after several hundred shares and RT’s to match… last night Stik.com has finally reached out and responded. Here is their response from one of their founders, Nathan Labenz. Which I think we will all be happy to hear. Thanks Nathan.

Hi Liz,

My name is Nathan Labenz and I’m one of the founders of Stik.com. I just wanted to comment here to let you know that I’ve read your feedback and that we are taking it seriously. We are planning to introduce upgrades to the site tomorrow that will make recommendation requests more personal and meaningful.

I also wanted to make clear that we are not automatically sending these requests. Our users have full control over whether or not to send requests, and to whom. We have been surprised by how many requests some people send and are considering imposing a limit in order to avoid annoying people like yourself.

Have a great day and let me know if you have any other feedback for us.

Best,
Nathan Labenz

Entry filed under: facebook, Online Tools, Social Media. Tags: , .

Blocking Stik.com – Easier than you think! Stik.com – The Real Estate Referral End of Things

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Foose  |  April 4, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Liz, this sparked an interesting debate. I think that by coming from a place of consideration you were able to make them see they have a viable product that could be made better. They actually took the time to hear you but address your concern. I’m sure they received myriads of “you suck” complaints that were deleted upon receipt. One of my associates who is from a different time thinks that we have no rights to “complain” and should have “blocked” the application. Personally, I used the fluffbustingpurity app so I didn’t have to see it anymore opposed to unfriending everyone who stik’d me. BUT I think you gave the company that launched Stik a chance to start over AND by publishing his note to you in a positive light, may have opened your reader’s minds back to being more accepting of “stik”. …I think they owe you some advertising dollars 😉

    Reply
  • 2. retechtalk  |  April 4, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Thanks Michelle. I actually commend Stik on taking the feedback from its consumer base and making the changes. Not only are they doing that…. the didn’t ignore the interaction! Thats HUGE. They not only monitored the “word on the street” – they hopped on the street and joined the conversation. It speaks volumes.

    Reply
  • 3. Nathan labenz  |  April 5, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Thanks for posting Liz! We do work hard to stay engaged with the conversation surrounding Stik and it’s nice to know that you noticed.

    Reply
  • […] having issues with Stik.com. Will this, along with the other updates that Nathan spoke about in his response cause you to unblock the tool and give it a second try? The freshest in culture. Featured on […]

    Reply
  • 5. tim  |  February 27, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    stik.com are a nightmare while their app probably has the right intentions they are gaining a lot of negative press because its indisciminate. My partner has a personal webpage and a page related to her business. Stik posted images from her personal site that now appear when you search for her business site. Its really not good enough

    Reply
  • 6. Kymdwf  |  September 21, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    I found your blog via a search “Stik spam” because I was sent an email on behalf of my father from Stik asking for a referral. Of course, I’d give a referral to my father so I followed the link and started the process. At the end of the process I was informed that the last step was to allow them access to my Facebook profile and friends list. I stopped there. When I questioned my father about it, he had no idea what it was. Just thought you’d like to know that, over 2 years later, Stik is still continuing with their despicable practice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



