Stik.com – The Real Estate Referral End of Things

April 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm 7 comments


The story continues with Stik.com – As many of you have been following the updates since my original post (Blocking Stik.com – Easier than you think!) venting about agents overuse and spam our Facebook wall with their “recommend me” tool you may be interested to know that the referral end of Stik.com has responded. Response below.

Liz, my name is Philip and I am Broker of Record for the real estate referral arm of Stik.com.  This is still in alpha phase, so it will be some time before this reaches wide spread access.  We are sharing this advance peek with your readers to offer an incentive to *not* block the stik.com messages.

We have been testing functionality that allows brokers to refer leads to those they are connected to via Facebook.  We recently sent an actual buyer referral to 6 brokers in Portland, OR, and only 1 responded.  2 more responded when we followed up with direct email messages, saying they assumed the original message was spam.  The other 3 never even knew that they missed a qualified buyer referral who has since submitted an offer.

As a broker myself, I am very dialed into the prolific claims around ‘lead generation’, and we are working VERY hard to provide a high quality and lucrative experience for members of the Stik network.  Stik has failed at times to avoid pitfalls, and there is still much work to be done.

However, blocking all messages from Stik will prevent you from receiving referrals through the network once it is up and running.  For your readers who may choose to block the referral request messages, please check back periodically on the status of the referral network capabilities, as these are leads coming from fellow brokers in your network.

Finally, please feel free to contact Nathan (who posted above) or me (philip@stik.com) with any suggestions on how to make the experience better.  We are working hard on the areas that we know, and are always open to new ideas.

Regards,

 

So I pose this to my friends and followers who have been having issues with Stik.com. Will this, along with the other updates that Nathan spoke about in his response cause you to unblock the tool and give it a second try?

Entry filed under: facebook, Online Tools, Rants, Social Media. Tags: , , .

Stik.com Replies to Complaints Found: Random Travel/Training Shots

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jon Benya  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Hmmm…. Unblock stik, let all your local competitors post their business advert on your FB wall, and gain the chance to be one of 6 local agents contacted when a referral hits your region? I’m not sure there’s any real value proposition there in exchange for diluting your own online brand. I think I’ll pass…

    Reply
  • 2. Eden Jordan  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I have no problem with Stiks as a referral network, I just do not want to see on my wall everyone they have posted to, we get enough garbage in our email and on our facebook. The beauty of facebook is that I as the consumer can choose what I want to look at, if it was not so intrusive, I would have not blocked it from my facebook. We in the social networking world want control of the information we send, and SEE! I blocked stiks because I do not care who my competion is trolling for referrals. I love my fellow Realtors, but I want referrals from other propects not other Realtors….Thanks Liz for taking the time to educate us on this matter… You da bomb!

    Reply
  • 3. mark  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Liz – I can’t believe you fell for this. The boys at Stik are using you for your database connections. You have posted each of their letters which inturn allows them to get their message across to your followers. I still think their business odel is based on spamming and I think you are being used. Just my two cents.

    Reply
    • 4. retechtalk  |  April 11, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      I disagree Mark. I am VERY aware that they want me to repost this. Likewise, I picked the battle with the original post – I would be extremely disappointed in them if they had not engaged me about it. I would also be disappointed if I was one of my consumers and I only got one part of the story. I am also aware that I operate in a world of transparency for the consumer. There is no reason that Stik shouldn’t be aloud to speak their minds. Also I see no reason that the general public shouldn’t see what they have to say. I still have not unblocked the program and I doubt that I will. Much as Jon Benya said above, I don’t see the value in diluting my online brand.

      Their product aside, a good company engages with its audience and listens to the pulse of their brand image. Stik has done that. For that, they deserve to speak their end of the story.

      Reply
  • 5. cyndenrealtor  |  April 11, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I prefer the referral networks thru KW and thru the Online Referral page on FB…and developing my own relationships with my Realtor friends across the country…I will keep an open mind however and watch how this application progresses

    Reply
  • 6. stephanie  |  April 11, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Please tell me how to block it. I don’t see this being a viable part of Realtor referrals. I’ll keep an open mind, as long as I can choose when to look at it! I very much dislike the tactics used. I never signed up, but apparently I now have an account because early on I clicked a recommend button for a fellow Realtor pal. I did NOT allow access, but that didn’t stop them!

    Reply
    • 7. retechtalk  |  April 12, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Stephanie.. take the link at the beginning of this blog that says (Blocking Stik.com….) the directions are there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



