While looking forward to 2014, don’t forget 2013’s lessons

December 31, 2013 at 12:38 pm Leave a comment


2014 It become a bit of a tradition of mine to write a farewell blog on New Years Eve over the last few years. Sometimes it’s inspiring, sometimes it’s uplifting, and sometimes I’m just so happy to see the year leaving I can’t stand it. This year will be no different. I’m not quite sure why, but this is something that seems to strike my friends as odd. That I would share things randomly with the web. With essentially, strangers.

You see, it’s not that I think I have all of the answers. Because I don’t. Part of it is that being in the industry I am in (real estate) and being a coach on top of that, I see people who tend to focus so much on next years business this time of year. They focus on it so much that they forget about the last year and everything that came with it. Now, don’t get me wrong. You better have your business plan in place, and know your goals (I’m speaking to you with that one coaching clients)! But when did this become the only thing that we started focusing on for the new year? It’s incredibly frustrating. I guess that’s why I feel the need to share my year with you, and a few lessons learned along the way.

Some years ago I realized that new years resolutions were stupid. Thats right, stupid. They are stupid because we make them that way. We actually make them these worthless things. We say “I’m going to lose 5 pounds” or “I’m going to eat healthier”, blah blah blah. We make these “goals” for no other reason than we feel we need to at that very moment. We don’t base them off of anything. We just do as we think we are supposed to. So I decided that instead of setting some stupid goal like joining a gym, I would work on what I screwed up in the past year. There is usually quite a few for me to choose from. Think about it. What did you do in 2013 that if done differently in 2014 would greatly improve who you are. For some of you that may be joining a gym, but you’ve got to see the benefit for you and your loved ones to really stick with it. Not just say  “I’m going to join a gym for a month… weeeeeeee”. That crap doesn’t change anything.

You may be wondering what my resolution is. And you can keep wondering 🙂

Thats all I have to say about it, but here are a few highlights for my year in case you were wondering. I jumped out of a plane (again) and lived (whew), bought my condo, went on my first real vacation in years, switched to a MAC and loved it, spilled Kool-Aid on said Mac and had to buy another one. I held my new niece and nephew for the first time, I spoke on stage in front of the largest group in my career (thanks KWMC), I learned to cook (still a work in progress), had my first great birthday/christmas combo in a long time, I completed my second Tough Mudder, took over 60 airplane flights, helped several clients meet their goals and spend more time with their families, spent more money keeping my dog healthy than myself, realized that in your 30’s there is such a thing as a two day hangover, and I broke up with Jameson. Yes, those last two events are related.

As you ring in the new year tonight, please remember to be safe and get a DD. Cheers!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Adjusting to the NEW Craigslists

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



