5 Reasons to KEEP Your LinkedIn Profile

July 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm 3 comments


It has been brought to my recent attention that there is a (surprisingly) large group of people who are thinking about deleting their LinkedIn profiles. I had no idea about this epidemic. I was completely caught by surprise and I felt as if I needed to throw my friends a life vest before they drown in the waters of their own decisions. Luckily… this is not life or death. I will advise you though to KEEP your LinkedIn profile. And if you don’t have one, set one up.

1. LinkedIn has GREAT search engine optimization results and will show up if a potential client searches for you.

2. The boardroom of social media. This site is not for socializing. It is for networking and professionalism.

3.  They had an $8Billion IPO in May and shares are selling for over $100 each. Clearly, the business community see’s value here.

4. They just introduced the “APPLY” button for job seekers.

5. You may want to expand your business and search others profiles (aka – their online resume) for recruiting. Vise versa – you may need a job if you don’t do your prospecting.

So what I am saying here is that although LinkedIn is not the worlds most bustling social network they do indeed have their place. And they are important to have up, running and UPDATED.

LL

Entry filed under: Social Media. Tags: , , , .

Because size does matter… Follow the Tweeters #KWMC

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stephanieswhite  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Great insight!

    Reply
  • 2. Joe Loomer (@loomerjoe)  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Expanding my LinkedIn reach is something I’ve focused on for the last seven or eight months. It’s brought in referrals I did not expect, and contacts with various industry professionals I hope to cultivate to our mutual benefit over time. Truly as you say – the boardroom of social media.

    Reply
    • 3. Sara Scott  |  August 23, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      It is also a great place for referral networking.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed